Day 07: I couldn’t imagine living without…

I could say something cheeky, like, food and water, but I don’t think that’s the response the writing prompt is going for. Though food and water are a technicality of being alive, I would say that I couldn’t imagine living without a pet.

It’s been about 8 years since I’ve lived in close proximity to a pet. I’ve filled the dog shaped hole in my heart, caring for other people’s pets throughout college and afterwards. But now, since last Saturday, I’ve filled the dog shaped hole with my own dog!

MRelative Simple Rockett The dogy hubby and I adopted the cutest, loviest puppy about 5 days ago. Her name is Rockett. She’s an English Springer Spaniel and is a poster child for the breed. She’s brilliant, literally nothing bothers her and she already knows how to sit, stay, lie down and is house trained for the most part. What she doesn’t lack in intellect, she makes up for in emotional neediness. The running gag is that, springers are velcro dogs, meaning that they must stick to you at all times. Rockett fits that description to a T.

It’s been so long since I’ve had a dog of my own. I never could fully imagine being without a pet. Now that I’ve made that leap of faith into puppy Mommydom, my little world makes sense again.

Leave a Reply

