Day 02: If I could talk to my teenage self, the one thing I would say is…

Oh boy. If I could talk to my teenage self, the one thing I would say is…

By one thing, you mean like, three, right?

Clearly.

If I could talk to my teenage self, the one thing I would say is…

Back in 2010, playing music with my noise metal friends.

I’d start by saying: “Don’t spend your time trying to get validation from toxic people. Toxic people are such as they are because they’re miserable on the inside and are unmotivated to be anything more. They’re content in misery and misery, really does love company. Don’t stoop to their level.”

I’d smoosh in the middle: “You are more capable than you think. Don’t let others’ expectations define your future. You’re in control and can do anything you can imagine.”

I’d end with: “You. Are. worthy. Learn to differentiate between honest, uplifting criticism and the jealousy of others.”

I spent a lot of time feeling stupid and worthless as a teenager. I spent a lot of time trying to love myself as a young adult. Now, I’m spending a lot of time trying to be the best version of myself that I can be, and how to really craft a life that I’m proud of and find fulfilling.

Leave a Reply

