Day 01: My favorite way to spend the day is…

My favorite way to spend the day involves two sets of criteria.

  1. Must feel accomplished as an adult. Meaning, I must feel like I deserve No. 2.
  2. Taking part in some type of fun rewarding, self indulgent activity.

My all-time favorite combination of these two things is to get up at 5AM and log 4 hours of work; just me and the birds. I like being awake before anyone else. The twittering and silence of the rising sun’s blue glow is really the only time I feel calm for more than 30 seconds at a time. Plus, I’m proud of myself for getting out of bed. #adulting

When I know I accomplished about 80% of my work tasks for the day checked off, I can allow myself to fully embrace the fun scheduled for 9AM.

Day 01: My favorite way to spend the day

I like to ride the train a lot.

Sometimes, I’ll go to Starbucks and read all afternoon. Sometimes, I’ll ride public transportation all day and just watch people, thinking about the next steps I want to take in my business. Sometimes, I’ll ride the train and read this new book series I’m utterly obsessed with.  My MOST favorite thing to do, is take the train to the far away thrift store where they sell goods by the pound.

Yep. By. The. Pound. 

Not only does this indulge my inner frugalness, it’s also a hell of a lot of fun to dig through piles of stuff, hunting for buried treasure. I’ll walk out of there having spent 2X the amount on the round trip train tickets and glass of victory wine than I’ll have spent on the new house wares / clothing. (Roughly $15 and $8 respectively).

So, to sum up my favorite way to spend the day:

  • Getting shit done for my business
  • Riding the train and reading my book
  • Thrifting

I hope you enjoyed reading about my favorite day. I’d love to read about yours, too!

Comment below with a link to your Day 01: “Favorite way to spend the day.”

XO

Ella

2 responses to “Day 01: My favorite way to spend the day is…

  1. I like pretty much the same thing…wandering around the shops enjoying the beauty without needing to buy stuff and then reading in a bath with sometimes a cheeky glass of wine!

    • Thanks for the comment!

      It’s the best, right? People watch, get inspiration, walk-n-think. I can’t imagine a better day! <3 I hope you get to have a day like this soon!!

Leave a Reply

